February 1st blog carnival....

February 01, 2010

I belong to a team of diverse metal smiths on Etsy, calling themselves Etsy Metal. Today, I present to you a blog carnival! Basically, how this works is a bunch of folks answer a question, and link together...so viewers can enjoy a bunch of different responses to the same query....Many in this group are participating in a challenge begun by one of the members called "Ring a Day". The premise is to challenge and stretch your creative thinking by making one ring a day for 365!...At this point, many non-etsy metal artists have joined the fun. You can see all of the work, posted on flickr HERE. I myself am not participating in the challenge...my process and pokey mind are just too sloooow for this one...but it has been fascinating to see many of the things folks have come up with.
  Today's carnival subject was: "choose your favorite ring from the ring a day challenge", which is now global, by the way.
 It was hard, but I have to say, I am in love with this ring by Danielle Miller, entitled "Growth". Much of Danielle's work contains miniature abacus' and has a more geometric feel to me...I just love the lyrical lines on this one.(big surprise) It feels like a poem!
For more blog carnival fun, follow the links below, or simply check out the entire collection on flickr!
Alisa Miller http://alisamiller.blogspot.com
Colleen Baran http://seeseebe.blogspot.com/
Danielle Miller http://daniellemillerjewelry.blogspot.com/
stacey hansen http://wildflowerdesigns.blogspot.com
Chris Parry http://chris-parry.blogspot.com
Sara Westermark http://sarawestermark.blogspot.com/
Victoria Takahashi http://vtakahashi.blogspot.com/
Su Trindle http://quercussilver.blogspot.com/
Nina Dinoff http://ninadinoff.blogspot.com/
Maureen "Cosmo's Moon" BZ http://cosmosmoonjewelry.blogspot.com
Thomasin Durgin http://metalriot.blogspot.com/
Colleen Baran http://seeseebe.blogspot.com/
Beth Cyr http://bcyrjewelry.blogspot.com/
Caitlyn Davey/discomedusa http://discomedusa.typepad.com
Catherine Chandler http://catherinechandler.blogspot.com/



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.